The Georgians: What they ate


This is wonderfully interesting to me, so thought some of you might enjoy it as well. It’s from my friend and wonderful author, Regan Walker’s blog. Please check it out. I get up every morning intending to post something new on here, but alas, I become so overwhelmed by all the small Things in Life I must do first. I’ve come to the conclusion that there just aren’t enough hours in a day to get everything done that I’d really like to do…i.e. Reading, more writing – poetry usually, working with my plants (oh, btw we have a little fox family that lives just down the road) photography and studying the art of digital manipulation to enhance my shots. NOW, go read about the Georgian Era, the food will surprise you!

All Things Georgian

Once again we are absolutely delighted to welcome a return guest to our blog, the lovely Regan Walker, who has  written another fascinating article for us. This time she has looked at a subject which is very close to our hearts – food!

ReganWalker_ToTametheWind - 800px “A sea adventure like no other, a riveting romance!” – Shirlee Busbee, NY Times Bestselling Author

For more information and snippets from Regan’s book please see the links at the bottom of the page.

Luis Meléndez (1716–1780), Still Life with Apples, Grapes, Melons, Bread, Jug and Bottle Luis Meléndez (1716–1780), Still Life with Apples, Grapes, Melons, Bread, Jug and Bottle

While doing research for my story, To Tame the Wind, the prequel to my Agents of the Crown trilogy, I was reminded how well the Georgians ate, even in the 18th century, particularly if they were people of means and had access to a large country garden.

Beginning in the late 1600s, many in the English aristocracy sent…

View original post 1,347 more words

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John J. Rigo
    Aug 31, 2015 @ 00:08:40

    Have tried to get in touch with you, but to no success. John

    Reply

    • kelihasablog
      Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:54:51

      Sorry John… My computer finally died and I’m on this tiny little thing that I can hardly see. Lol. I’ve been bust trying to get my old house repainted so I can sell it as soon as possible. Hubby isn’t helping cuz he is so busy at work. 😕 I’m usually over there all day 5 days a week. When it sells, I get to buy a new computer… I hope. Hope you are still improving! I’ll try to catch up as soon as I finish that dumb, old, house. Blessings ~

      Reply

  2. Lily Lau
    Aug 11, 2015 @ 18:51:19

    Thanks for sharing this with us! The Georgian Era was so romantic… 😉

    Reply

  3. Russel Ray Photos
    Jul 26, 2015 @ 22:11:43

    My family was of German Bohemian ancestry so they understood food. Those German Bohemian weddings were some of the best 30-day food festivals ever!

    Reply

    • kelihasablog
      Jul 27, 2015 @ 01:40:36

      Wow, I bet so! My hubby’s family is from Germany, okay… Well his mother and her family are/were Germans. His fathers family was Huron Indian from Michigan so I got a “humdinger of a hubby…lol. I stay on his good side. Lol. I love Bohemian crystal though. I’ve never had their food that I know of, but their artistry is stunning.

      Reply

    • kelihasablog
      Jul 27, 2015 @ 23:25:48

      I know I wrote a reply back to you Russell, but where it went…. Only Heaven knows I guess.. Lol

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

The Weddington Adventures

Peace!...with 2 fingers;)

RFOTOFOLIO

Art can make a difference

Duncurra

Experience it

kiltsandswords's Blog

History in the buff

Just One More Page

When it comes to reading there is never just one more page!

Deborah Cooke & Her Books

USA Today Bestselling author Deborah Cooke writes paranormal romance and contemporary romance; she also writes medieval romance as New York Times bestselling author Claire Delacroix.

Historical Romance Sale

May 22-May 28, 2016

Alyssa Cole

Diverse Historical, Sci-Fi, and Contemporary Romance

Christy Jackson Nicholas, Author and Artist

Art, jewelry, travel, writing, history!

Susana's Parlour

For Readers & Authors of Historical Romance

Duchess of Romance

Romance books, historical romance, authors and book reviews

authorsinterviews

My interviews with many authors

Melodi's Psychic Readings

Readings in Ireland and World Wide!

Rae Latte

Books I Love a Latte Book Reviews

Dream Big, Dream Often

Seek To Add Value To the World Around You

dandeliongirl01

Views of a Dandelion Girl

Healthy Quack

The Reality of Healthcare....funny, scary, true....

A Dog Called Storm

He's Storm. He's a dog. How difficult do you want to make it?

chrisnelson61

Poetry, stories and some random words...

Eating With My Fingers

Don't forget to lick your cuticles.

Alef Reiki - Healing

Healing means "to make whole". One whole Body - Mind - Spirit - Consciousness.

Teela Hart

Surviving Domestic Violence

Art by Rob Goldstein

There is no common truth

HappyHETU

Spreading Happiness through writing :)

Your Bones & Their Lies

A Collection Of Macabre And Romance

All Things Georgian

Blogging about anything and everything to do with the Georgian Era

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

PhotosbyGoldie

Landscape & Floral Photography

Searching For The Happiness

The search for what makes us happy

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

Conquering My Own Castle

Life - Family - Books

The Nephilim Rising

Carpe Diem; Carpe Noctem; Carpe Omnia

The Screenplay of Life Chronicles

A Journey into the Story of Life

Brenda Hiatt

Author of Sparkling Romantic Adventure Novels

BOOKTALK WITH EILEEN

Sharing the experience of living a thousand lives

The Elemental Eye | Peter Freeman

I happened to notice...

joannerambling

Remember Life's Too Short To Be Miserable

Without an H

Photography from south-east Asia by Jon Sanwell

Aura E Martinez

Live to the Max™/Viva al máximo™

Shoot 'N Go

Adventures in Photography

