Never lose HOPE… there is always INSPIRATION out there somewhere!


THE WOUNDED RANGER’S SALUTE DURING A PURPLE HEART CEREMONY THAT LEFT THE ROOM WEEPING

Oct. 16, 2013 10:36am 

Wounded, bandaged and hooked up to tubes in an Afghanistan intensive care unit, a U.S. Army Ranger, thought by hospital staff to be unconscious, heard his commander’s voice and addressed him with the iconic symbol of respect: a salute.

josh hargis

Josh Hargis, a Purple Heart recipient with the 3rd Ranger Battalion, was injured after 13 improvised explosive devices went off while he was conducting a mission in Afghanistan to capture a high value target, according to the website Guardian of Valor. Several members of the unit were killed by a woman wearing a suicide vest and others injured by the IEDs that went off afterward.

Hargis’ commander sent his wife, Taylor, a letter explaining what her husband endured along with a photo, which the Guardian of Valor is calling the “salute seen around the world.”

Taylor Hargis posted the note and photo on Facebook over the weekend, calling it a letter that details the “kind of man I have the privilege of being married to.”

josh and taylor hargis

The commander’s letter said that Hargis held on for two hours after being “seriously wounded” before making it to the hospital. Once there, he endured hours of surgery.

“…the single greatest event I have witnessed in my 10 years in the Army.”

Share:

Before being transferred from Afghanistan to Germany where he would make his flight back to America, Hargis had a Purple Heart pinned on to his blanket in a ceremony, which included other Rangers, doctors and nurses at his bedside.

“During the presentation the [Ranger Regimental] Commander publishes the official orders verbally and leaned over Josh to thank him for his sacrifice. Josh, whom everybody in the room (over 50 people) assumed to be unconscious, began to move his right arm under the blanket in a diligent effort to salute the commander as is customary during these ceremonies,” the letter read. ”Despite his wounds, wrappings, tubes and pain, Josh fought the doctor who was trying to restrain his right arm and rendered the most beautiful salute any person in that room had ever seen.”

In this emotional moment, “grown men began to weep and we were speechless at a gesture that speak volumes about Josh’s courage and character,” the letter continued. “The picture, which we believe belongs on every news channel and every news paper is attached. I have it hanging above my desk now and will remember it as the single greatest event I have witnessed in my 10 years in the Army.”

It is unclear when exactly Hargis was injured in Afghanistan or what the extent of his injuries were.

Watch WHAM-TV’s report about Hargis’ incredible salute:

****

Of course my computer BLIPPED and cut out what I’d written… my opinion… is that censorship? Oh well…. those of you who know me… can probably image … LOL

****

Many of the American Public, those that have at least 2 brain cells to rub together, are probably feeling if not SAD, ENRAGED by INCOMPETENCE!  (Just my OPINION)

***

This is one of my FAVORITE pictures!!!!  The artist is SO talented… deviant art link provided below.

THE SAD CLOWN

By- ~ HedieH - NaviD   Website- http-::shiny-shadows.deviantart.com:

I know the artist did this for someone in particular, but I think there are so many of us that can relate!!!

I know I can relate, completely!

 

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. valentina
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 21:23:08

    Reblogged this on misplaced smiles and commented:
    Awesome and so moving! Please watch! :D

    Reply

  2. valentina
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 21:22:06

    Oooh, waooooo! Will share this everywhere, sweetie! ;)

    Reply

  3. viveka
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 16:36:04

    Keli, amazing post and powerful post – but what make me upset that your brave men and women dies and get injured in wars that is totally meaningless and when just get medal on his chest – will he be able to support his family in the future, when not able to work … high price he and his family had to pay for a war that should even be.

    Reply

    • kelihasablog
      Oct 18, 2013 @ 21:23:34

      I agree Viveka… I personally think it is stupid for us to try to insinuate our different philosophies on another Country. Good grief, we can’t even agree between the truth and deceptions here. I would love for everyone to have had the Freedoms I had as a child…. Many of these have been abolished, called into question, eliminated, or rewritten per someone else’s agenda… however. These other Countries have their own culture and their own beliefs. I don’t mean to seem heartless or rude, but I just don’t think that is taken into consideration. War is sad… our Civil War was devastating… and still have some effects on the different parts of the Country, but we didn’t have the rest of the world jumping in to tell us how to do it or take sides. In my own personal opinion, these countries need to fight their own civil wars. They fight for their own freedoms. Seems to me like 90% of the time, which ever side we (& others) tend to “support” or think is “the best”, usually turn out to be just as radical with their own agendas and they STILL hate us. But, that’s all just my way of thinking, which is obviously not cared for or listened to

      I will say that I think that any person, politician, actors, or just regular people who fall to the name calling and Blame shifting only proves their ignorance. I’m not a “Tea Partier” (I don’t think) …. but I am a Conservative and someone who believes in right and wrong. I resent all these people who ridicule others just because they disagree with them.

      Reply

      • viveka
        Oct 19, 2013 @ 06:43:22

        I must admit that US are in a very strange seat, because everybody turns to you for help when there are problems, but I’m so pleased that nothing was done about Syria. Terrible with what is going on there, but still – there must be other ways than war.
        But I feel that US has to take care of their own first of all, because there is so much problems at home.
        The sad thing is that if the wars stops … there will be even more problems – because there is so much money involved in the war machine, so it would mean more unemployment … and economy crises and not only in US.
        But to pin a medal on a brave soldier and then let him get on with his life the best he can .. after he are “healed”, what is the fairness in that. It makes me sick. We lose our soldiers in wars that isn’t even our, because they work for UN as peace keepers. Not at all in the same scale as US does, but one life is one too many.
        Thank you for your great replay. I wish you a pleasant weekend.

        Reply

        • kelihasablog
          Oct 30, 2013 @ 14:16:14

          I agree that many countries turn to the U.S. for help when they are having problems. They usually only want money or weapons to ensure their possibility of winning the day. Problem is, then they have the weapons (that we pay for) and the money (while we are deep in debt ourselves) and once they win, or even when they don’t, they seem to HATE Americans.

          I agree that there is a lot of money involved in the war machine, and when a country is at war the economy tends to appear to be better. My question is…. which is better, losing the limbs and lives of our brave, young soldiers as well as the innocents in other countries, vs retraining programs and employing the people who would lose their jobs on to be trained for some other job, IT, etc.?

          I’m sorry that I don’t have a high regard for the United Nations. I know many of the troops involved in helping try to keep the peace are good people, and trying hard…. I question the commitment of their home countries. I honestly don’t know much about them, so that is based solely on my own opinion. I do know that if you look at who sits on the Human Rights committee (I think that’s the name of it), you’d probably swallow your tongue at the choices there. The U.N. is housed here in the U.S. (at tax-payers expense) & the diplomats & staff have immunity & cannot be prosecuted for any crimes they happen to commit while here. To me, that isn’t fair… rotate the U.N. amongst all the member countries. Wonder if that would change anyone’s thinking of attending meetings, their safety, &/or their immunity in OTHER countries.

          That’s just my opinion… from things I read about or hear about from those involved. I realize it seems harsh, and I don’t mean it to…. I’m just tired of paying for weapons to go to different countries, many of whom I disagree with their actions, of trying to bail out all these other countries then they turn right around and try to murder our military or citizens. Talk about biting the hand that feeds you…. Sorry, I’m in an ill mood.
          Thanks for your comment though as I do enjoy our discussions and differing ideas and reasons. :D

          Reply

          • viveka
            Nov 06, 2013 @ 13:44:36

            I’m all in favor for UN, because the world had been in much worst state … if they hadn’t been there, but that doesn’t mean I agree on everything they do and stand for.
            But their peace forces makes a difference to the civilians in the countries where they are.
            There is rotten eggs in all organizations and there will always be … that is what we humans are all about.
            It’s the same with all embassies – they have immunity too and I totally agree that is wrong that they are protected, but the country in question can deny them visa and ask them to leave the country … happen over here.
            If the war machines stops … means more unemployment all over the world – that’s so sad …

            Reply

            • kelihasablog
              Nov 11, 2013 @ 04:25:41

              Well, that’s probably true. I know they do, do a lot of good. Any you’re absolutely correct about the rotten eggs… LOL…. I think we seem to have collected a “bunch” over here…LOL.

              I didn’t realize that about the embassies… probably because I really never thought of it, and I should have.

              I personally would like for them to at least slow down the war machine, and retrain those who lose their jobs, for some other job. I realize it boosts the economy, world wide actually, but I still don’t have to like it… LOL. It’s only my opinion and we ALL know that they could care less what I think…. :D

              Thanks for stopping by :D

  4. laurie27wsmith
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 11:16:31

    Keli is back, great post and a brave man.
    cheers
    Laurie.

    Reply

  5. chrismcmullen
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 05:24:22

    That salute will be a classic. :-)
    (What’s really amazing is what other countries’ newspapers are saying about politics in Washington right now. Comedians from any party won’t have any trouble coming up with new material.)

    Reply

  6. PapaBear
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 04:22:44

    Keli, this was awsome. I’d say a lot more…, but suffice to say, this was absolutely awsome. Thanks for sharing. Paul

    Reply

  7. Raani York
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 22:25:35

    Thank you very much Keli, for sharing this story. Of course I’m sitting in front of my monitor, leaking like a water hose…
    The art is beautiful too!!!
    What an amazing post!!!

    Reply

    • kelihasablog
      Oct 17, 2013 @ 13:33:55

      Thank you Raani! I wanted everyone to see what REAL heroism looks like. Being petulant, apparently, is reserved for the select few…lol This guy not only fought for his Country to maintain the Freedoms Washington is trying on a daily basis to get rid of, but I’m proud to say not everyone agrees with what’s being done. Maybe if we all mailed an empty can to them they would get the point. (as in kicking the can down the road… again!) But that’s just my opinion and we all know that Politics are a passion of mine, but I’m far from an expert. :D

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Delightfully Different Life

Promoting Kindness, Offering Forgiveness, Sharing Gratitude & Finding Joy

Author, Jane Lark's

Stories from history

Allie Mackay

Author of Contemporary and Paranormal Highland Romance

Jabri'z Point of View

I might not be always right, but it's my point of view about stuff.

1EarthUnited

Uniting the world, One Love at a time. :D

andrei plimbarici

Calatorind Descoperi

Deanna-Cian's Blog

An English Language student who lives by the sea and can be often seen stalking Benedict Cumberbatch's online profiles. If I'm not spending my time pressed up against the windows of cake shops then I'm rambling about stories in the press. I do love cake.

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

Want to buy a signed book? Contact me at deanjbaker @ G mail dot com

Lars from Mars and Beyond

Just one man's journey through this world...

Lovingly Made offers ideas that can be made from the comfort of your own home along with general pretty things that catch my eye along the way

Digestible Politics

Politics Made Easy!

ROMANCE AUTHOR B.J.SCOTT

Romance Author B J Scott

herschelmann fotografie blog

einige mehr oder weniger tolle ideen um die fotografie

Kev's Stuff

Thoughts and Expressions

Cooking with Luca

"La cucina è amore e buon cibo . Sta al cuoco farlo divenire ottimo."

Miss Lou Acquiring Lore

Gallery of Life...

Galoms

Know the world around you

As My Camera Sees It

A 365 day photo journey through 2014

Sheri de Grom

From the literary and legislative trenches.

Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

... about nothing in particular, because "Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get". Photography by Lignum Draco, "The Wood Dragon" since 2013.

Robertson Writes

The Art of Storytelling

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

I will shatter a word and scatter the contents into the wind to share it with the world.

Ceci Giltenan, Author

Characters with character

keris journal

A dandilion.... can either mean one hundred weeds or one hundred wishes!

Me, My Magnificent Self

Sharing my experiences... awakening and living in the new energy consciousness...

PujaMohan

Let the good times roll!

Me and the Boss 2013

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

Kindness Blog

Kindness Changes Everything...

Jami Gray's Blog

Award Winning Paranormal Romance & Urban Fantasy with a killing edge.

All Food Cooking Recipes

The Original European Cooking Recipes. All Cooking Recipes. All Continental Recipes. All Mexican Recipes. Italian Recipes.

Blog of an e-marketer by Main Uddin

Professional Blogger Main Uddin Has Expressed Few Moments of Blogging Life

Painting Pundit

A Rambling Paintbrush

Stephanie Hurt - Author/Accountant/Children's Minister

This WordPress.com site confirms all things are possible through God!

The Introspective Introvert

and the words where twisted into something uniquely her's

realityofchrist

Christian News and Encouragement

WHISPERING PHOTOGRAPHY

© Kjetil Karlsen & Malin Hellesø | All images on this website/blog are copyrighted material and all rights are reserved. Not to be used without permission.

the hour of soft light...

How do I know what I think until I see what I say? (E.M. Forster)

PICZLoad pics a la carte

Watchout Loud and Have PICBliss!

Delightful Oak

Christ, Marriage, Family, Philosophy, Art

lekhraaj

Insights into Astrology

Photos That Inspire Words

Photographers Show off Their Photos To Inspire Writers to Write!

Life of a Minister Mom

Connecting. Sharing. Growing. Embracing the Woman Within!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 710 other followers

